AGM 2020

2020 Annual General Meeting -  held via ZOOM

The Society held its AGM on the 14th December 2020. After members were welcomed by the Society’s Chair, Dr Joanne Backhouse,
the Accounts for the year to the 31st October 2020 were presented.
The extraordinary circumstances from March onwards had led to a drop in income, but this was offset by reduced expenditure and the balance on the bank account at the end of the year was £183.59 higher than at the start, leaving the Society in a strong position to deal with the challenges ahead. Renewal of membership for 2021 is initially to be for six months only, until the Covid-19 complications become clearer.

Julie Marshall, the Membership Secretary and newsletter publisher, had tendered her resignation and was thanked for the enormous contribution she had made to the Society whilst on the Committee.

The annual election of Officers confirmed the retention of the following:

Chair : Dr Joanne Backhouse
Treasurer : Cheryl Hanson
Secretary – General and Membership : Rosie Jackson
Librarian : Bill Jackson
Additional Committee Member : Gwen Morris

Dr Backhouse made a request for more volunteers for the Committee, particularly to cover the production of the newsletter and social events.
The Chair then gave her annual report summarising the year and the dramatic turn of events in March. She thanked the members of the Society for their support through the difficulties imposed by the Covid-19 restrictions and gave special thanks to the individuals who had worked hard to keep the Society going through these trying times. Although the April meeting had to be cancelled, the rest of the year’s programme was delivered in full, albeit with a move to online meetings.